Jungus Jordan

District 6 City Councilmember

First elected to the City Council in June 2005, Jungus Jordan represents District 6 in the far south and southwest portions of Fort Worth. He was re-elected to his eighth term of office on May 4, 2019.

Jungus Jordan

He is a Fort Worth native who was born at Carswell Air Force Base, attended local public schools and earned a bachelor’s degree in economics from TCU and a master’s degree in management from Webster University. He is also a graduate of the Management Executive Program at Cornell University.

Jordan enjoyed a distinguished career in the United States Air Force that included tours of duty in Vietnam, Germany and in force management and personnel for the Office of the Secretary of Defense at the Pentagon. He is the recipient of more than 15 medals and commemorations, including the Defense Superior Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal and the Vietnam Service Medal.

Upon his retirement from the Air Force as a lieutenant colonel, Jordan returned home to work as a development officer at TCU, then as vice-president of Marketing and Business Development for the Eurpac Service Company. He served as a financial advisor with two national financial services companies and now works part time for Cook Children’s.

Jordan married his wife, Glenda, in 1970. They have two adult children, Shaun – a Captain firefighter/paramedic in Mesquite – and Samantha – a Director of Marketing & Communications for a Government Administration.

Shaun and his wife Sumer have two children, Sophie and Sawyer. The Jordans are members of Doxology Bible Church. Jordan represents Fort Worth as a board member of the National League of Cities and the North Texas Commission. He is the past president of the Texas Municipal League and serves on the Texas Municipal League Executive Board, the vice chair of the North Central Texas Clean Air Steering Committee and is the former Chair of the North Central Texas Regional Transportation Council. He is the immediate post chair of the Texas Municipal League, Texas Mayors of Military Communities and serves on the Texas A&M Transportation Institute Advisory Council. In 2007 and 2008, Jordan was Chair of Rail North Texas and served as chair of the Passenger Rail Working Group and serves on the Executive Board of Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition.

He has also been an active civic volunteer, previously serving as chairman of Fort Worth’s Zoning Commission and Process Improvement Committee. Other community involvement included service with numerous local charitable organizations such as the American Red Cross, Senior Citizens Services, Rotary Club, The Optimist Club and the VFW.

Most recent honors:

  • Tabernacle Masonic Lodge of Woodway: Community Builder of the Year, 2019
  • Morton Herman Service to Veterans Award: Jewish War Veterans Post 755, 2017
  • O. Roy Stevenson Award, Rotary Club of Fort Worth, 2017
  • Tarleton State University President’s Legacy Award for Civility and Integrity, 2017
  • Harmony Public Schools, Distinguished Service Award, in recognition and appreciation for outstanding service to Public Schools, 2016
  • Greater Fort Worth Builders Association, Partnership Award, 2015
  • Texas Department of Transportation, Road Hand Award, 2014
  • Gama Phi Delta Sorority, Inc., Delta Phi Chapter, Award for Linking Minds to the Future through the Political Arena, 2014
  • Harmony Public Schools, Friend of STEM Education Award, 2014
  • National League of Cities Excellence in Transportation Award, 2009
  • American Planning Association Midwest Section of the Texas Chapter Planning Advocate Award, 2009, 2004
  • North Texas Commission, North Texas Transportation Excellence Award in Mobility, 2009
  • North Central Texas Council of Governments, William J. Pitstick Award, 2009, in recognition for his excellence in leadership for regional cooperation in North Texas

District History

Jungus Jordan 6.11.2005 to Present

Clyde Picht 5.3.1997 to 5.7.2005

Jewell Woods 5.4.1991 to 5.3.1997

Gary Gilley 7.12.1986 to 5.4.1991

Kathy Weatherby 2.2.1982 to 7.12.1986

Bob Bolen 4.10.1979 to 11.10.1981

Woodie W. Woods 4.14.1975 to 4.10.1979

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977.)

Leonard E. Briscoe 4.7.1971 to 4.14.1975

Edward Guinn, M.D. 4.24.1967 to 4.7.1971

Scranton Jones 4.16.1963 to 4.24.1967

Don H. McLeland 4.24.1961 to 4.16.1963

Thomas A McCann 4.6.1955 to 4.21.1961

Jack E. Burton 11.4.1953 to 4.6.1955

Thomas A McCann 4.8.1953 to 10.30.1953

Ray Crowder 4.5.1949 to 4.8.1953

Clay J. Berry 2.10.1943 to 4.5.1949

Henry L. Woods 7.23.1938 to 2.3.1943

Jerome C. Martin 4.7.1937 to 7.23.1938

W. T. Ladd 6.17.1936 to 4.7.1937

Jerome C. Martin 4.4.1933 to 6.6.1936

E. T. Renfro 4.7.1925 to 4.4.1933