Leonard Firestone

District 7 City Councilmember

Council District 7 is represented by Leonard Firestone, who was elected in a run-off election on June 5, 2021.

Councilmember Leonard Firestone

Council District 7 is represented by Leonard Firestone, who was elected in a run-off election on June 5, 2021. 

Prior to his election to the Council, Firestone co-founded the Firestone & Robertson Distilling Company (F&R), where he and his partner created the TX Whiskey & TX Bourbon brands.  As a co-founder Firestone was responsible for leading the organization’s sales, marketing and production strategies while scaling the business to become the largest American whiskey distillery west of the Mississippi.  In 2019, the F&R Company was acquired by the second largest multinational spirits company in the world.

Before his work in the distilling industry, Firestone worked in the broadcast and cable industries.  He served as president and general manager of the ABC affiliate in Jacksonville, Florida as well as being the co-founder of a children’s cable television network.

In 2020, Firestone served on former Mayor Price’s Fort Worth Now Task Force.  This was a COVID-19 recovery committee which provided financial assistance to small businesses adversely affected during the pandemic.

In Firestone’s role on the Fort Worth City Council he is currently serving on the following boards and committees:

  • Entrepreneurship & Innovation Committee (Chair)
  • Mobility: Infrastructure & Transportation
  • Audit Committee (Chair)
  • Regional Coordination Committee, protecting areas around the Naval Air Station/Joint Reserve Base
  • Trail Drive Management (for Dickies Arena)
  • Fort Worth Sports Authority

In addition, Firestone serves on these Tax Increment Finance Districts for the City of Fort Worth

  • TIF #2 Speedway (Chair)
  • TIF #8 Lancaster (Chair)
  • TIF #10 Lone Star
  • TIF #12 East Berry Renaissance

District History

  • Leonard Firestone: 6/15/2021 to present 
  • Dennis Shingleton: 7/12/2011 to 6/15/2021
  • Carter Burdette: 5/7/2005 to 7/12/2011
  • John Stevenson: 5/3/2003 to 5/7/2005
  • Jeff Wentworth: 5/3/1997 to 5/3/2003
  • Bill Meadows: 5/5/1990 to 5/3/1997
  • Steve Murrin: 7/12/1986 to 1/16/1990
  • Richard C. Newkirk: 5/5/1975 to 3/15/1986

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977)

  • Pat Reece: 4/7/1971 to 5/5/1975
  • Fred C. Rehfeldt: 4/9/1969 to 4/7/1971
  • Frank G. Dunham Jr.: 4/24/1967 to 4/9/1969
  • Jim Eagle: 4/6/1965 to 4/24/1967
  • R. E. Harding, Jr.: 4/16/1963 to 4/6/1965
  • Mrs. M. M. McKnight: 8/8/1956 to 4/2/1963
  • M. M. McKnight: 4/5/1949 to 8/2/1956
  • Orville E. Tunstill: 4/13/1938 to 4/5/1949
  • Dr. D. M. Rumph: 4/7/1937 to 12/12/1938 (Elected)
  • William Monnig: 4/7/1925 to 4/7/1937