Real Estate & Finance

Section Chief:
Denis McElroy

The Real Estate and Finance Section is responsible for legal work in:

  1. Leasing, acquisition and conveyance of city property
  2. Construction of public works and city facilities
  3. Use of certain real estate and public facilities, including airports, parks, community centers, and convention centers. 

Departmental clients include Housing and Economic Development, Transportation and Public Works, Parks and Community Services, Public Events, and Aviation.

The real estate attorneys in this section are responsible for negotiating and drafting legal documents for leasing, sale, and purchase of city real property. These attorneys also provide counsel on real estate matters to the Fort Worth Housing Finance Corporation, the Fort Worth Local Development Corporation, and other City Boards, Commissions, and legal entities.

The construction attorneys in this section are responsible for the negotiation and drafting of all legal documents for the construction of public works, including roads, sidewalks, storm water facilities, and water and sewer facilities.

The city facilities attorneys in this section are responsible for negotiating and drafting all legal documents related to the use of airports, parks, community centers, and convention centers in the city. They also negotiate and draft leases and license agreements for use of the city’s public facilities and public streets, and documents related to the acquisition, design, and installation of public art.

Attorneys in this section are also responsible for providing general legal support to various Boards and Commissions, including the Aviation Advisory Board, the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for Transportation Impact Fees, the Capital Improvements Plan Advisory Committee for Waste and Wastewater, the D/FW International Airport Board, the Fort Worth Art Commission, Trinity Metro, the Golf Advisory Commission, the Infrastructure and Transportation Committee, and the Parks and Community Services Advisory Board.


 Christopher Austria

Royce Hansen

Matthew Murray

   Taylor Paris

 J.B. Strong