Michael D. Crain

District 3 City Councilmember


Contact Councilmember Crain 

Councilman Michael D. Crain is honored to serve the people of Fort Worth.  As a real estate broker, public servant, philanthropist, and father, Michael has a variety of qualities that help make him successful in this role. Holding a B.A. from Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School, a J.D. from Texas A&M University School of Law, an M.B.A. from The State University of New Jersey’s Rutgers Business School and a certificate in Executive Leadership from Texas Christian University’s Neeley School of Business, his education is well rounded. Michael began his career in administration and public policy through roles with former Fort Worth Mayor Kenneth Barr, former Congressman Pete Geren and Congresswoman Kay Granger.  Through these opportunities he gained valuable skills he uses in his public service role as the District 3 City Councilman.

Councilmember Crain is passionate about many things and his love for Fort Worth runs deep. Having worked in both the public and private sectors, he understands the realities businesses face and the role government can play to help foster commerce and entrepreneurship. During his time in Washington, DC, as part of President George W. Bush’s administration, Councilman Crain honed his skills as a problem-solver and innovator.  He ultimately served as a diplomat, being appointed Chief of Staff at the U.S. Embassy in Beijing for the final three years of the administration.  In addition, he has held positions with American Airlines, Texas A&M University, a global transportation network company and an international legal and consulting firm. As the only active real estate broker on the Fort Worth City Council, Councilmember Crain couples his knowledge of land use with his law school education to help guide neighborhoods and investors through the zoning and development process.

Key to his duties on the city council is addressing issues of concerns for citizens and working with other city, county, state and federal leaders to continue to make Fort Worth a great place to live, work and play. Aside from his family, deep faith and business acumen, Councilmember Crain has a personal passion for being a community advocate. He serves in many volunteer roles with area, state and national organizations.  He is an active member of LVT Rise, the Texas Lyceum, the Fort Worth Food + Wine Festival and the Fort Worth Rotary. He and his wife of 22 years, Joanna, founded Foodie Philanthropy which partners with restaurants for an annual fundraising event for local charities. Honors include being named Top 400 Most Influential People by Fort Worth Texas magazine, awarded Entrepreneur of Excellence Award by Fort Worth Inc. Magazine and recognized as Community Advocate of the Year by the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Through his official duties, Councilman Crain serves on the following boards and committees:

  • Legislative & Intergovernmental Affairs, Chair
  • Entrepreneurship & Innovation, Vice Chair
  • North Central Texas Council of Governments Regional Transportation Committee
  • Trinity Metro, Board of Directors
  • Fort Worth Sister Cities International, Nimes Liaison
  • NAS-JRB Fort Worth Regional Coordinating Committee
  • North Central Texas Council of Governments Executive Committee (2021-2022)
  • PID #21 (Las Vegas Trail)
  • PID #19 (Camp Bowie)
  • Lancaster TIF
  • Woodhaven TIF
  • Fort Worth Local Development Corporation
  • Central City Local Development Corporation
  • Lone Star Local Development Corporation
  • Fort Worth Housing Finance Corporation
  • Crime Control & Prevention District

District 3 Map

Enter the street address and click the select button or Use my location on your cell phone to locate your address in District 3.

This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...

District History

  • Michael Crain May 1, 2021 to present
  • Brian Byrd: May 16, 2017 to May 1, 2021
  • W.B. ‘Zim’ Zimmerman: June 13, 2009 to May 16, 2017
  • Chuck Silcox: May 25, 1991 to Oct. 24, 2008
  • William N. Garrison: April 20, 1985 to May 5, 1991
  • Dwaine Johnson: April 7, 1981 to April 20, 1985
  • Clark Martin: Nov. 20, 1979 to April 7, 1981
  • Jim Bradshaw: April 14, 1975 to Nov. 13, 1979

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977)

  • Cliff Overcash: April 4, 1973to April 14, 1975
  • Taylor Gandy: April 9, 1969, to April 4, 1973
  • R. M. Stovall: April 6, 1963, to April 9, 1969
  • John Justin Jr.: April 2, 1959, to April 16, 1963
  • J. J. Lyles: April 2, 1957 to April 2, 1959
  • F. E. Garrison: April 6, 1955 to April 2, 1957
  • Edd Kane: April 22, 1953 to April 6, 1955
  • R. E. Cowan: Jan. 11, 1949 to April 22, 1953
  • I. N. McCrary: Dec. 7, 1938 to Jan. 1, 1949
  • Ward B. Powell: July 23, 1938 to Dec. 7, 1938
  • Herbert L. Hull: April 7, 1937 to July 23, 1938
  • Dr. W. R. Thompson: June 19, 1928 to April 7, 1937
  • T. B. Hoffer: April 7, 1925 to June 19, 1928