Gyna Bivens

District 5 City Councilmember

Councilmember Gyna Bivens

Gyna M. Bivens serves as Mayor Pro Tempore for Fort Worth, Texas. She has served as the District 5 City Council member since first winning election in 2013. Bivens is known as a champion for neighborhoods throughout east and southeast Fort Worth and an advocate for economic development, neighborhood revitalization, and speaking up for senior citizens. Her advocacy for inner-city revitalization led to awarding of a $35M Choice Neighborhood Initiative grant being awarded to the City of Fort Worth and Fort Worth Housing Solutions.

Since 2006, Bivens has served as President and Executive Director for North Texas LEAD.  Created by a group of Fort Worth CEOs and former Mayor Kenneth Barr, LEAD connects college degreed professionals with employers seeking to hire top talent. 

As a newly elected official, Bivens engaged in the work of the Texas Municipal League of Cities and the National League of Cities.  After being appointed to NLC’s Community Economic Development (a federal advocacy committee), she became Vice Chair and later served as Chair of this policy committee.   Bivens serves on NLC’s Board of Directors and is the liaison to NLC’s WIMG, Strategic Partners, and Corporate Partners Council.  

Bivens was appointed as chairman of two TML Legislative Policy Committees: General Government, Annexation, and Regulation of Development in 2016. Her primary duty was to prepare members on addressing upcoming bills that would challenge their local authority to govern.  Several bills designed to usurp local authority were introduced in the 85th Legislative Session and remain a top priority to this day.

Bivens' professional career started as a news reporter for NBC television affiliates in Lubbock and San Antonio, Texas.  She also worked at KRLD, KKDA and KBOX/KMEZ radio stations and was the FOX 4 Fort Worth Bureau Chief.  She also served as the Public Information Manager for the City of San Antonio and created the cable industry’s first cable access television program (launched at a TML conference).

Outside her municipal roles, Bivens has several affiliations including:  Fort Worth Human Resources Association; Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.; Public Relations Society of America and the Fort Worth Chapter of the LINKS, Incorporated.  She has been honored as a Great Woman of Texas by the Fort Worth Business Press and has won the Award of Excellence (Katie Award) from the Dallas Press Club and the Excellence in Diversity award from the Dallas Human Resources Association, among other recognitions.

District 5 Map

Enter the street address and click the select button or Use my location on your cell phone to locate your address in District 5.

This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...

District History

Gyna Bivens 7.9.2013 to present

Franklin Moss 5.12.2007 to 7.9.2013

Donavan Wheatfall 6.11.2004 to 5.12.2007

Franklin Moss 8.8.1998 to 6.6.2004

Eugene McCray 5.6.1995 to 5.21.1998

McKinley Jackson 5.3.1993 to 5.6.1995

Eugene McCray 5.20.1989 to 5.3.1993

Bert C. Williams 4.10.1979 to 5.20.1989

Mrs. Walter Barbour 4.19.1977 to 4.10.1979

(First single member district election occured on April 19, 1977.)

Hugh Parmer 4.14.1975 to 4.5.1977

Ted C. Peters 4.9.1969 to 4.14.1975

Vaughn Wilson 4.24.1967 to 4.9.1969

T. Z. Hamm 4.16.1963 to 4.24.1967

Gene Cagle 4.7.1959 to 4.16.1963

Jess E. Roach 4.6.1955 to 4.7.1959

F. E. Deen 12.20.1944 to 4.6.1955

Marvin D. Evans 7.23.1938 to 12.12.1944

John W. Oglesby 2.7.1938 to 7.23.1938

T. J. Harrell 12.12.1933 to 9.6.1937

William Bryce 4.7.1925 to 12.12.1933