Elected Officials

Fort Worth has a council-manager government. Under the form, an elected governing body, usually called a city council will have elections held every two years for a mayor, elected at large, and ten council members, elected by district.

The mayor is a voting member of the council and represents the city on ceremonial occasions. The council has the power to adopt municipal ordinances and resolutions, make proclamations, set the city tax rate, approve the city budget, and appoint the city secretary, city attorney, city auditor, municipal court judges, and members of city boards and commissions.

The day-to-day operations of city government are overseen by the city manager, who is also appointed by the council.


Mattie Parker

Mayor of Fort Worth

  • Profile:
    Reelected in 2023 with 70% of the vote, Mattie Parker has served as the 45th Mayor of Fort Worth, Texas since 2021. As Mayor of one of the fastest-growing cities in America, she keeps her focus on the basics of city government, championing investments in public safety and streets and infrastructure maintenance and expansion.

Carlos Flores

District 2 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Councilmember Carlos Flores was elected to represent District 2 residents in a run-off election on May 10, 2017. He is a third-generation Fort Worth native with deep roots in the community.

Chris Nettles

District 8 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Pastor Chris Nettles is a lifelong resident of Fort Worth and believes in devoting his time to his family, business, and community. He has served as the Councilmember for Council District 8 in Fort Worth since June 2021.

Alan Blaylock

District 10 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Alan Blaylock was elected to represent the residents of District 10 on May 6, 2023. Councilmember Blaylock previously represented the residents of District 4 from May 2022 to May 2023.