Jared Williams

District 6 City Councilmember

Dr. Jared Williams was elected to the Fort Worth City Council on June 5, 2021 to represent District 6, which includes the far south and southwest portions of Fort Worth.

Councilmember Jared Williams

Dr. Williams grew up in southwest Fort Worth and was raised by two working parents: both were public school teachers, and his dad a pastor in District 6. Dr. Williams is a graduate of North Crowley High School and holds a bachelor’s degree in Biotechnology from Fort Valley State University - a historically black college and university, a master’s degree in Environmental Science from Texas Christian University, and a doctorate in Environmental Science and Science Education from the University of North Texas.

Dr. Williams has extensive experience leading education initiatives, organizing nonprofit and corporate stakeholders around common good, and vision-casting equitable public education reform. He actively supports various local non-profits and initiatives with organizations such as the Tarrant Area Food Bank, DRC Housing Solutions, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Crowley ISD, Friends of I.M. Terrell Foundation and others.

Rooted in the values his family instilled in him, Dr. Williams has dedicated his life-work to making a difference in Fort Worth on local and state issues like public education, hunger, housing and the environment.

In his spare time, he loves spending time with his wife, Scioscia, and their two dogs, vagabonding for scenic landscapes, failing forward in socially responsible entrepreneurship, and exercising his green thumb growing Texas native plants, strong neighborhoods, and prosperous cities.

District 6 Map

Enter the street address and click the select button or Use my location on your cell phone to locate your address in District 6.

This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...

District History

Jared Williams 6.15.2021 to present

Jungus Jordan 6.11.2005 to 6.15.2021

Clyde Picht 5.3.1997 to 5.7.2005

Jewell Woods 5.4.1991 to 5.3.1997

Gary Gilley 7.12.1986 to 5.4.1991

Kathy Weatherby 2.2.1982 to 7.12.1986

Bob Bolen 4.10.1979 to 11.10.1981

Woodie W. Woods 4.14.1975 to 4.10.1979

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977.)

Leonard E. Briscoe 4.7.1971 to 4.14.1975

Edward Guinn, M.D. 4.24.1967 to 4.7.1971

Scranton Jones 4.16.1963 to 4.24.1967

Don H. McLeland 4.24.1961 to 4.16.1963

Thomas A McCann 4.6.1955 to 4.21.1961

Jack E. Burton 11.4.1953 to 4.6.1955

Thomas A McCann 4.8.1953 to 10.30.1953

Ray Crowder 4.5.1949 to 4.8.1953

Clay J. Berry 2.10.1943 to 4.5.1949

Henry L. Woods 7.23.1938 to 2.3.1943

Jerome C. Martin 4.7.1937 to 7.23.1938

W. T. Ladd 6.17.1936 to 4.7.1937

Jerome C. Martin 4.4.1933 to 6.6.1936

E. T. Renfro 4.7.1925 to 4.4.1933