Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)

The city’s Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP) can provide up to $20,000 in mortgage assistance for income-eligible first-time homebuyers within the Fort Worth city limits.

The amount of assistance will be dependent on sales price and loan amount from the lender. A financial subsidy is available in the form of closing costs and down payment assistance. Three percent of the loan amount may be used for closing costs and the remainder for down payment or all of the assistance may be used for down payment. 

Guidelines to participate in the program:

  • The property must be located in Fort Worth city limits.
  • Applicant(s) must be first-time homebuyer(s) or must have not owned a home within the last three years. Displaced homeowners may be eligible.
  • HOME regulation 24 CFR Section 92.254 (a) (2) (iii) require that the sales price not exceed 95% of the area median sales price. As of April 1, 2020 for existing homes the sales price must not exceed $205,000 and for new construction the sales price must not exceed $238,000.
  • Government owned properties are not eligible for assistance.
  • Applicant must qualify for a first lien mortgage from a city-approved lender.
  • The homebuyer’s minimum contribution of $1,000 or two percent of the of the purchase price, whichever is less, is required. May include out of pocket expenses such as appraisal, earnest money and credit report.
  • The homebuyer agrees to live in the home as their principal residence for five years to receive up to $14,999 in assistance or ten years to receive over $14,999 in assistance.
  • The home must pass a Minimum Acceptable Standards Inspection and City of Fort Worth Environmental Review
  • Two months of reserves will be verified.
  • Applicant(s) must be a citizen of the United States or legal permanent resident.
  • Applicant(s) must attend eight hours of homeownership training provided by a HUD-approved housing counseling agency.
  • The yearly income for all adults living in the home must be at or below 80% Area Median Income (AMI) based on family size.

Income Limits

2020-2021 Federal Income Guidelines(PDF, 57KB)

Area Median Income (AMI)

  • Area Median Income (AMI)
  • Income limits will be updated by HUD in June.  Effective June 2020
Household Size Maximum Annual Income
1 $45,650
2 $52,200
3 $58,700
4 $65,200
5 $70.450
6 $75,650
7 $80,850
8 $86,100

 

2021 Certified Mortgage Lender List

B

1 Cowboys Way, Suite 500
Frisco TX 75034
Phone: 469-731-8569
Lender: Daniel F. Garcia, NMLS # 279662
Email: daniel.f.garcia@bofa.com

5178 Preston Rd
Frisco TX 75034
Phone: 469-403-3489
Lender: Pedro Beascochia, NMLS # 488891
Email: pedro.beascochea.jr@ozk.com

C

Chase Bank

4600 S. Hulen Dr.
Fort Worth, TX 76132
Phone: 817-412-9329
Lender: Jane Mathis, NMLS # 1004858
Email: jane.mathis@chase.com

 

 

4101 William D. Tate Ave, #220
Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone: 817-601-7800
Lender: Mathew Kranz, NMLS # 87618
Email: matthewk@cnnmortgage.com

300 Bailey, Suite 100
Fort Worth, TX 76107
Phone: 817-694-9984
Lender: Colton Peacock
Email: colton.peacock@gocolonial.com

 

E

Efinity Mortgage

121 Newton Dr., Suite B

Burleson, TX 76028

Phone: 817-896-4087

Lender: Sylvia Aguirre #512536

Email: sylvia.aguirre@efinitymortgage.com

G

1423 N Highway 67, Ste 200
Cedar Hill, TX 75104
Phone: 817-228-3021
Lender: Jesse Mitchell, NMLS # 1671122
Email: jmitchell@goldfinancial.com

L

5851 Legacy Cir, Ste 600
Plano, TX 75024
Phone: 817-229-1842
Lender: Patricia Derden, NMLS # 265926
Email: pderden@loansimple.com

5851 Legacy Cir, Ste 600
Plano, TX 75024
Phone: 817-688-5990
Lender: Tracey Robinson, NMLS # 276853
Email: trobinson@loansimple.com

N

5787 Hampton Rd.
Dallas, TX 75232
Phone: 972-283-1171 - ext 1547
Lender: Arrielle West, #1988871
Email: arrielle.west@naca.com

P

4851 Merlot Ave, Ste 520
Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone: 573-644-5990
Lender: Michael Love, # 1764829
Email: mlove@myprovidencebank.com

4851 Merlot Ave, Ste 520
Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone: 314-239-0445
Lender: Erica Pallady, #1299891
Email: epallady@myprovidencebank.com

5560 Tennyson Parkway, Ste 201
Plano, TX 75024
Phone: 682-521-2772
Lender: Gary Walters, NMLS # 513054
Email: gary.walters@phmloans.com 

5500 E Loop 820 S, #101
Fort Worth, TX 76119
Phone: 817-825-1364
Lender: Lisa Melton, NMLS # 315147
Email: lisa_melton@pfmgrp.com

 

S

1848 Norwood Plaza, #213
Hurst, TX 76054
Phone: 214-444-9250
Lender: Daniel Sanders, NMLS # 294200
Email: daniel.sanders@snmc.com 

2400 Highway 287 N, Ste 100
Mansfield, TX 76063
Phone: 817-721-6389
Lender: Ruth Ann Dunham, NMLS # 219157
Email: rdunham@servicefirstmtg.com

 

8500 Precinct Line Rd. Suite 100
Colleyville, TX 76034
Phone: 817-223-1193
Lender: Ruben De La Torre, # 1048737
Email: ruben.delatorre@supremelending.com

8500 Precinct Line Rd. Suite 100
Colleyville, TX 76034
Phone: 469-684-2158
Lender: Sergio A. Moreno, NMLS # 739525
Email: sergio.moreno@supremelending.com

8500 Precinct Line Rd. Suite 100
Colleyville, TX 76034
Phone: 469-684-2158
Lender: Cassy Sisk, NMLS #448821

Email: cassy.sisk@supremelending.com

 

 

T

4521 S Hulen St, Ste 200
Fort Worth, TX 76109
Phone: 817-614-3512
Lender: Iveth Guzman,NMLS # 1181260
Email: iguzman@txbmc.com