Jared Williams

District 6 City Councilmember

Dr. Jared Williams was first elected to the Fort Worth City Council on June 5, 2021 and re-elected May 6, 2023 to represent District 6, which includes southwest Fort Worth and the historic Lake Como Neighborhood.

Councilmember Jared Williams

On June 5, 2021, Dr. Jared Williams was first elected to the Fort Worth City Council and re-elected May 5, 2023, serving as one of the youngest Councilmembers in the history of Fort Worth and the first African American to represent the single-member District 6, which includes Southwest Fort Worth and the historic Lake Como neighborhood.

Dr. Williams has a proven track record of building consensus and delivering creative solutions to everyday issues that affect people the most; working to ensure vibrant and safe neighborhoods, quality public schools, access to food security and healthcare, expansive economic opportunity, and attainable pathways to homeownership and quality housing.

Dr. Williams is a graduate of North Crowley High School and holds a bachelor’s degree in Plant Science-Biotechnology from Fort Valley State University - a historically black college and university, a master’s degree in Environmental Science from Texas Christian University, and a doctorate in Environmental Science and Science Education from the University of North Texas.

In his spare time, Dr. Williams cherishes quality time with his family, especially his wife, Scioscia, their daughter and son, Janelle and Jameson, and their two dogs.

District 6 Map

Enter the street address and click the select button or Use my location on your cell phone to locate your address in District 6.

This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...

District History

Jared Williams 6.15.2021 to present

Jungus Jordan 6.11.2005 to 6.15.2021

Clyde Picht 5.3.1997 to 5.7.2005

Jewell Woods 5.4.1991 to 5.3.1997

Gary Gilley 7.12.1986 to 5.4.1991

Kathy Weatherby 2.2.1982 to 7.12.1986

Bob Bolen 4.10.1979 to 11.10.1981

Woodie W. Woods 4.14.1975 to 4.10.1979

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977.)

Leonard E. Briscoe 4.7.1971 to 4.14.1975

Edward Guinn, M.D. 4.24.1967 to 4.7.1971

Scranton Jones 4.16.1963 to 4.24.1967

Don H. McLeland 4.24.1961 to 4.16.1963

Thomas A McCann 4.6.1955 to 4.21.1961

Jack E. Burton 11.4.1953 to 4.6.1955

Thomas A McCann 4.8.1953 to 10.30.1953

Ray Crowder 4.5.1949 to 4.8.1953

Clay J. Berry 2.10.1943 to 4.5.1949

Henry L. Woods 7.23.1938 to 2.3.1943

Jerome C. Martin 4.7.1937 to 7.23.1938

W. T. Ladd 6.17.1936 to 4.7.1937

Jerome C. Martin 4.4.1933 to 6.6.1936

E. T. Renfro 4.7.1925 to 4.4.1933