Mattie Parker

Mayor of Fort Worth

Mayor Mattie Parker with the City of Fort Worth

Reelected in 2023 with 70% of the vote, Mattie Parker has served as the 45th Mayor of Fort Worth, Texas since 2021. Parker is focused on building a safer and stronger Fort Worth, nurturing thriving families, and fostering the highest quality of life in every ZIP code of the nation’s 13th largest city.  

Launching her vision to build Fort Worth into a world-class city, Mayor Parker’s next-generation leadership includes key efforts and community partnerships to bolster Fort Worth’s development to compete in a global economy, improve public safety, expand access to education and workforce opportunities, and preserve the city’s rich heritage with a pioneering spirit and determination to leave things better than she found them.  

Mayor Parker’s commitment to supporting strong police and fire services while making Fort Worth cleaner and safer has resulted in additional sworn officers and firefighters, dedicated support to Neighborhood Patrol and Crisis Intervention teams, as well as additional street sweepers, litter abatement crews, and historic investments to create housing for the homeless.  

She works with Councilmembers and City Management to focus the city budget on basic services that have the greatest impact on residents’ daily lives, while providing property tax relief for homeowners by voting to lower the city’s property tax rate every year. In her first term, she led a unanimous redistricting vote, restructured City Council committees to strengthen entrepreneurship and innovation in Fort Worth, and helped lead the passage of a $560 million bond to fund capital projects in neighborhoods and business districts. 

Development is booming under Mayor Parker’s leadership in the fastest-growing large city in America. From Texas A&M University’s expansion in Downtown Fort Worth, Crescent development in the Cultural District, and Mule Alley in the Historic Stockyards, to Hillwood’s AllianceTexas, and DFW Airport's newest $1.63 billion terminal in partnership with Fort Worth-based American Airlines, Mayor Parker is focused on attracting innovative expansion and high-paying jobs to Fort Worth while fostering conditions that help companies and small businesses alike thrive. That includes modern mobility and infrastructure projects that spur economic development and a business-friendly climate at City Hall enabling businesses to grow and flourish. 

With an eye always on improving Fort Worth for the next generation, Mayor Parker is leading efforts to expand access to educational resources and quality health care for mothers and young families, so all children are given the opportunity to succeed. She has worked with nonprofits and local hospital CEOs to better streamline services for maternal and infant health care and formed a Blue Ribbon Action Committee on Childcare to address longstanding childcare issues worsened by the pandemic. Her Mayor’s Council on Education & Workforce Development convenes schools and business leaders to match students with careers and higher education pathways, ensuring students in Fort Worth are prepared to succeed when they enter the workforce. 

Mayor Parker prioritizes increasing accessibility and growth of Fort Worth’s green spaces by working with organizations like the Trust for Public Land, overseeing city projects including the Open Space Acquisitions Program and the Urban Forestry Master Plan, and serving as co-chair of the national Mayors for Parks Coalition. Her tenure saw the first bond program in City of Fort Worth history that included dedicated funds for open space conversation, a $15M investment that voters overwhelmingly supported. Mayor Parker is determined on ensuring that all residents have easy access to the city’s expanding parks system, preserving the heritage of Fort Worth’s landscape and growing the overall health and beauty of the city. 

Mayor Parker is a licensed attorney, with more than nineteen years of experience in national, state and local public affairs, including her service as the chief of staff for Mayor and the Fort Worth City Council where she helped shape major policy decisions on a variety of complex issues. She was the founding CEO of Fort Worth Cradle to Career and the Tarrant To & Through (T3) Partnership. 

She and her husband David are the proud parents of one daughter and two sons. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a Bachelor of Arts in Government and has a law degree from Texas A&M University School of Law, where she was awarded the prestigious MacLean & Boulware Endowed Law Scholarship. 


Past Mayors

Past Mayors

  • Mattie Parker: 6/15/2021 to present 
  • Betsy Price: 7/12/2011 to 6/15/2021
  • Mike Moncrief: 5/20/2003 to 7/12/2011
  • Kenneth Barr: 5/21/1996 to 5/20/2003
  • Jewel Woods (acting mayor): 12/20/1995 to 5/20/1996
  • Kay Granger: 5/21/1991 to 12/19/1995
  • Bob Bolen: 2/2/1982 to 5/21/1991
  • Woodie Woods: 5/1/1979 to 11/10/1981
  • Hugh Parmer: 4/5/1977 to 5/1/1979
  • Clif Overcash: 4/14/1975 to 4/5/1977
  • R.M. Stovall: 4/6/1969 to 4/14/1975
  • DeWitt McKinley: 4/6/1967 to 4/9/1969
  • Willard Barr: 4/6/1965 to 4/6/1967
  • Bayard H. Friedman: 4/22/1963 to 4/6/1965
  • John Justin: 4/21/1961 to 4/22/1963
  • Thomas A. McCann: 4/2/1957 to 4/21/1961
  • F.E. (Jack) Garrison: 4/20/1955 to 4/2/1957
  • F.E. Deen: 4/22/1953 to 4/6/1955
  • J.R. Edwards: 4/6/1951 to 4/22/1953
  • F.E. Deen: 4/9/1947 to 4/6/1951
  • Roscoe L. Carnrike: 4/4/1945 to 4/8/1947
  • I.N. McCrary: 7/17/1940 to 4/4/1945
  • T.J. Harrell: 7/27/1938 to 6/19/1940
  • R.H.W. Drechsel: 5/11/1938 to 7/27/1938
  • W.J. Hammond: 4/8/1937 to 5/11/1938
  • Van Zandt Jarvis: 12/20/1933 to 4/7/1937
  • William Bryce: 4/12/1927 to 12/20/1933
  • H.C. Meacham: 4/15/1925 to 4/12/1927
  • W.P. Burton: 10/8/1924 to 4/15/1925
  • E.R. Cockrell: 4/16/1921 to 10/8/1924
  • W.D. Davis: 4/16/1917 to 4/16/1921
  • E.T. Tyra: 4/16/1915 to 4/16/1917
  • R.F. Milam: 4/15/1913 to 4/15/1915
  • W.D. Davis: 6/1/1909 to 4/15/1913
  • W.D. Williams: 4/13/1909 to 4/27/1909
  • W.D. Harris: 4/10/1906 to 4/13/1909
  • T.J. Powell: 4/10/1900 to 4/10/1906
  • B.B. Paddock: 4/12/1892 to 4/10/1900
  • J. Peter Smith: 8/5/1890 to 4/12/1892
  • W.S. Pendleton: 4/08/1890 to 8/5/1890
  • H.S. Broiles: 4/20/1886 to 4/8/1890
  • J. Peter Smith: 4/11/1882 to 4/20/1886
  • John T. Brown: 4/12/1880 to 4/11/1882
  • R.E. Beckman: 8/8/1878 to 4/12/1880
  • G.H. Day: 11/10/1874 to 8/8/1878
  • W.P. Burts: 2/17/1873 to 11/10/1874