Elected Officials

Fort Worth has a council-manager government. Under the form, an elected governing body, usually called a city council will have elections held every two years for a mayor, elected at large, and eight council members, elected by district.

The mayor is a voting member of the council and represents the city on ceremonial occasions. The council has the power to adopt municipal ordinances and resolutions, make proclamations, set the city tax rate, approve the city budget, and appoint the city secretary, city attorney, city auditor, municipal court judges, and members of city boards and commissions.

The day-to-day operations of city government are overseen by the city manager, who is also appointed by the council.


Mattie Parker

Mayor of Fort Worth

  • Profile:
    Mattie Parker was elected in June 2021 as the 45th Mayor of Fort Worth. Leading one of the fastest growing large cities in the nation, Parker has set her focus on key issues that move Fort Worth forward including economic development growth, innovative transportation and mobility solutions, quality education opportunities for every student, and building safer, more prosperous communities.

Carlos Flores

District 2 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Councilmember Carlos Flores was elected to represent District 2 residents in a run-off election on May 10, 2017. He is a third-generation Fort Worth native with deep roots in the community.

Alan Blaylock

District 4 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Alan Blaylock was elected to City Council in May 2022 to represent District 4, which includes neighborhoods from inside Loop 820 to the far north.

Chris Nettles

District 8 City Councilmember

  • Profile:
    Pastor Chris Nettles is a lifelong resident of Fort Worth and believes in devoting his time to his family, business, and community. He has served as the Councilmember for Council District 8 in Fort Worth since June 2021.